Tier and Division Advancement in League of Legends

A real estate investor by profession, Shawn Boday enjoys online gaming in his free time. Shawn Boday stands out as an active League of Legends player and has plans to create his own online gaming company in the future.

In the online multiplayer game League of Legends, players compete in ranked leagues by play ability. A player receives his or her league placement by participating in 10 placement matches, after which time the player joins the Bronze, Silver, Gold, Platinum, Diamond, or Challenger tier. Each tier also includes five divisions, Division I being the highest and Division V being a step up from the previous tier.

Players move up divisions and tiers by earning league points, or LPs. When a player gathers 100 LPs, he or she must play in a three-game promotion series to step up to the next division. The player must win best of three to advance. Players in Division I who have accumulated 100 LPs win a best-of-five series to move to the next tier. This system gives players achievable goals within the game framework and enables them to compete against their friends on equal footing.


Published by

Shawn Boday

Shawn Boday is the Founder and President of Perday LLC, a real estate investment company based in Seattle, WA. In his free time Shawn enjoys snowboarding, water sports, philanthropic endeavors, and traveling.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s